Matthew Pavlich and Luke McPharlin have been recognised for their outstanding seasons by being named in the 40-man squad in contention for selection for the 2012 Four’N Twenty AFL All Australian Team.

Fremantle captain Pavlich, with six previous All Australian selections, is the most decorated player in the squad, in which a total of 24 members have never previously been named as an All Australian, including McPharlin.

The All Australian Selection panel is Andrew Demetriou (chairman), Adrian Anderson, Kevin Bartlett, Luke Darcy, Danny Frawley, Gerard Healy, Glen Jakovich and Mark Ricciuto.

“Selection in the Four’N Twenty All Australian team is recognition for a tremendous year of football, as the best player in your position across the entire competition,” AFL CEO Andrew Demetriou said.

“All Australian selection is a great honour also because of the quality of those players you have competed against, to win your spot, and the selectors nominated the 40-best players of the year to highlight the outstanding players who are in contention for selection as one of the elite players of the season.”

The All Australian selectors were not asked to nominate the leading players in each section of the field – forwards, defenders and midfielders / ruckmen – but simply to name the best players of the season.

The final team of 22, to be named on Monday, 17 September, in Melbourne, is selected to best fit team balance as if to play a match.

Fremantle Squad members

Matthew Pavlich,
 All Australian 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008. 21 games in 2012. 239 kicks, 130 marks, 137 handballs, averaging 11.4 kicks, 6.2 marks, 6.5 handballs. 62 Goals (Second in the AFL), 32 Behinds. 32 Clearances, 73 Inside 50m, 10 Rebound 50m. 62 Tackles.

Luke McPharlin, Never previously selected. 21 games in 2012. 230 kicks, 171 marks (First in the AFL), 119 handballs, averaging 11.0 kicks, 8.1 marks, 5.7 handballs. One Goal, Two Behinds. Two Clearances, 12 Inside 50m, 65 Rebound 50m. 28 Tackles.


P Dangerfield, S Jacobs, B Reilly, S Thompson, T Walker, E Betts, D Beams, S Pendlebury, D Swan, J Watson, L McPharlin, M Pavlich, C Enright, T Hawkins, T Lonergan, J Selwood, H Taylor, G Ablett, G Birchall, L Franklin, S Mitchell, C Rioli, D Petrie, A Swallow, T Cotchin, B Deledio, I Maric, J Riewoldt, S Dempster, L Hayes, S Milne, N Riewoldt, K Jack, L Jetta, J Kennedy, T Richards, D Cox, D Glass, N Naitanui, B Waters.

Source Link

Be Sociable, Share!