This weekend marks the AFL’s annual Indigenous Round, celebrating Indigenous heritage and culture in Australia’s game.

Fremantle has a proud tradition of Indigenous talent that traces right back to the club’s inception in 1994.

Since that time, we are the only club, apart from new teams Greater Western Sydney and Gold Coast, to have an indigenous player on the playing list in every season.

Thirty Indigenous players have been Freo Dockers, of which six are currently on the list.

Two of them, Dale Kickett and Troy Cook, have won the prestigious Doig Medal as the club’s best player.

Jeff Farmer, who played 131 games for Freo and 249 overall, was the first Indigenous player to kick 400 goals in AFL history.

Antoni Grover is the only Freo Docker to have played 200 AFL games, ahead of Cook (150) and Kickett (135).

Michael Johnson said he remembered watching his Indigenous heroes when he was growing up.

“I used to love watching Chris Lewis and Peter Matera (West Coast) play,” he said.

“I always looked up to those Indigenous players, what they did on the field and also what they did away from the field.

“They were great role models for myself and all other Indigenous people out there.”

Johnson said he was proud to have played with some talented Indigenous players at Fremantle.

“I played with these great players like Dale Kickett, Troy Cook, Jeff Farmer, and Des Headland,” he said.

“I used to watch these guys growing up and I was lucky enough to have played with them.”

Johnson said the AFL’s Indigenous Round was an excellent initiative.

“It’s a special round for myself and for all the Indigenous players out there,” he said.

“It’s the AFL recognising the contribution that Indigenous players have brought to the game.”

• Check out the Interactive Indigenous players map to find out the backgrounds of the AFL’s Indigenous stars.

Fremantle’s Indigenous players since 1994 (with games played for Freo)
Antoni Grover 201
Troy Cook 150
Dale Kickett 135
Michael Johnson 132
Jeff Farmer 131
Roger Hayden 128
Des Headland 114
Steven Koops 78
Steven Hill 74
Scott Chisholm 63
Dion Woods 59
Gary Dhurrkay 51
Clem Michael 43
Winston Abraham 38
Gavin Mitchell 36
Garth Taylor 15
Michael Walters 11
Jonathon Griffin 9
Keron Ugle 4
Clinton Wolf 4
Dwayne Simpson 2
Darren Bolton 2
Clayton Collard 1
Casey Sibasado 1
Calib Mourish
Joel Houghton
Darren Capewell
Douglas Headland
Nathan Mourish
Jordan Wilson-King

Source Link

Be Sociable, Share!