Fremantle and Hawthorn are using Friday night’s NAB Cup clash at Patersons Stadium as a dress rehearsal for round 1, with both sides picking near full-strength line-ups.


Freo’s squad includes Garrick Ibbotson, Antoni Grover and Nick Lower, who are all yet to appear in a NAB Cup match this pre-season.


Hayden Ballantyne and Michael Johnson have also been named after missing last weekend’s game against Port Adelaide in Victor Harbor.


Stars Matthew Pavlich, Nat Fyfe, Stephen Hill and Luke McPharlin are among those in the 29-man squad.


The Hawks are also pulling no punches for this match, selecting the likes of Luke Hodge, Lance Franklin, Sam Mitchell and Cyril Rioli.


Forward Jarryd Roughead is another inclusion for what could be his first match since tearing his Achilles in round 12 last year.

Senior coach Ross Lyon said Friday night presented Freo with a great opportunity to play against one of the AFL’s best teams before the season began.


“What’s real good is that we’re playing a top flight opposition. I mean Hawthorn are basically flag favourites, they’re sitting in that top four and are in red-hot form and everyone is up and about,” he said.


Lyon said Fremantle was approaching this match like it had every pre-season game during the NAB Cup series.


“We’re still building and we want to build on our intensity and effort and try not to lose anyone.”




1. Hayden Ballantyne, 3. Zac Dawson, 4. Jayden Pitt, 5. Garrick Ibbotson, 6. Greg Broughton, 7. Nathan Fyfe, 9. Adam McPhee, 10. Nick Lower 13. Tendai Mzungu, 14. Antoni Grover, 15. Ryan Crowley, 18. Luke McPharlin, 22. Jack Anthony, 23. Chris Mayne, 25. Josh Mellington, 26. Kepler Bradley, 29. Matthew Pavlich, 30. Zachary Clarke, 32. Stephen Hill, 34. Lee Spurr, 37. Michael Johnson, 40. Matt De Boer, 41. Paul Duffield, 46. Clancee Pearce, 47. Jay van Berlo



2. Jarryd Roughead, 3. Jordan Lewis, 4. Matthew Suckling, 5. Sam Mitchell, 6. Josh Gibson, 9. Shaun Burgoyne, 10. Chance Bateman, 12. Brad Sewell, 14. Grant Birchall, 15. Luke Hodge, 16. Isaac Smith, 18. Brent Guerra, 19. Jack Gunston, 20. David Hale, 21. Shane Savage, 22. Luke Breust, 23. Lance Franklin, 24. Ben Stratton, 25. Ryan Schoenmakers, 28. Paul Puopolo, 29. Tom Murphy, 31. Jarrad Boumann, 33. Cyril Rioli, 37. Brendan Whitecross, 40. Broc McCauley

Source Link

Be Sociable, Share!