Ross Lyon’s first official match as Fremantle coach could see up to seven players pull on the purple jumper for the first time.

The 30-man squad for Sunday’s NAB Cup round 1 fixture against West Coast and Essendon at Patersons Stadium includes former St Kilda defender Zac Dawson.

He has been named along with draftees Lachie Neale, Hayden Crozier and Tom Sheridan, and rookies Lee Spurr, Sam Menegola and Haiden Schloithe.

The onus of leading the backline will fall on Dawson and second-year player Peter Faulks in the absence of key defenders Luke McPharlin, Antoni Grover and Alex Silvagni.

There’ll still be plenty of star-power and experience out on the park for Freo, however, with captain Matthew Pavlich, Aaron Sandilands, Stephen Hill, Hayden Ballantyne and 2011 sensation Nat Fyfe all named in the squad.

Freo will play two shortened matches against the Bombers and Eagles comprising of 20-minute halves across a three-hour window.

West Coast and Essendon will compete in the first match, which begins at 4.45pm.

Freo’s first match, against Essendon, is scheduled to get underway at approximately 5.50pm, with the clash against West Coast set for approximately 6.55pm.

NAB Cup Trial Rules

1. Hayden Ballantyne, 3. Zac Dawson, 4. Jayden Pitt, 5. Garrick Ibbotson, 6. Greg Broughton, 7. Nathan Fyfe, 8. Nick Suban, 9. Adam McPhee, 10. Nick Lower, 11. Tom Sheridan, 13. Tendai Mzungu, 15. Ryan Crowley, 17. Hayden Crozier, 22. Jack Anthony, 23. Chris Mayne, 25. Josh Mellington, 27. Lachie Neale, 28. Peter Faulks, 29. Matthew Pavlich, 30. Zachary Clarke, 31. Aaron Sandilands, 32. Stephen Hill, 34. Lee Spurr, 35. Haiden Schloithe, 37. Michael Johnson, 39. Sam Menegola, 40.Matt de Boer, 41 Paul Duffield, 46. Clancee Pearce, 47. Jay van Berlo

2. Mark LeCras, 3. Andrew Gaff, 5. Brad Sheppard, 6. Mark Nicoski, 7. Chris Masten, 11. Matt Priddis, 13. Luke Shuey, 14. Koby Stevens, 15. Tom Swift, 16. Eric Mackenzie, 17. Josh Kennedy, 18. Bradd Dalziell, 19. Ryan Neates, 20. Dean Cox, 21. Quinten Lynch, 22. Michael Mascoulis, 23. Darren Glass, 25. Shannon Hurn, 26. Sam Butler, 27. Jack Darling, 28. Ashley Smith, 29. Scott Lycett, 30. Blayne Wilson, 33. Josh Hill, 34. Jacob Brennan, 35. Patrick McGinnity, 36. Fraser McInnes, 37, Adam Selwood, 40. Anton Hamp, 42. Jeremy McGovern, 43. Ashton Hams, 44. Gerrick Weedon, 45. Callum Papertalk, 46. Simon Tunbridge, 47. Lewis Stevenson

2. Ricky Dyson, 6. Angus Monfries, 7. Leroy Jetta, 10. Mark McVeigh, 11. David Zaharakis, 12. Stewart Crameri, 13. Anthony Long, 14.Sam Lonergan, 15. Courtenay Dempsey, 16. Tayte Pears, 17. Jake Melksham, 19. David Hille, 20. Henry Slattery, 22. Jake Carlisle, 23. David Myers, 26. Cale Hooker, 27. Luke Davis, 28. Elliott Kavanagh, 29. Alwyn Davey, 30. Patrick Ryder, 32. Travis Colyer, 33. Jackson Merrett, 34. Kyle Hardingham, 35. Nick O’Brien, 36. Lauchlan Dalgleish, 37. Kyle Reimers, 38. Michael Ross, 40. Ben Howlett, 41. Brendan Lee, 43. Michael Hibberd, 46. Mark Baguley, 47. Cory Dell’Olio

Source Link