Fremantle Dockers Luke McPharlin and Nat Fyfe have been rewarded for their outstanding seasons by being named in the 40-man squad that is in contention for selection for the 2011 Four’N Twenty AFL All Australian Team.

The pair were among 25 members of the squad who have never previously been named as an All Australian.

The All Australian selectors were not asked to nominate the leading players in each section of the field — forwards, defenders and midfielders / ruckmen – but simply to name the best players of the season. However, the final team of 22, to be named on Monday 19 September in Melbourne, is selected to best fit team balance as if to play a match.

“Selection in the Four’N Twenty All Australian team is recognition for a tremendous year of football, as the best player in your position across the entire competition,” AFL CEO Andrew Demetriou said.

The All Australian selection panel is: Andrew Demetriou (chairman), Adrian Anderson, Kevin Bartlett, Luke Darcy, Danny Frawley, Glen Jakovich, Leigh Matthews and Mark Ricciuto.

Congratulations to Luke and Nat. It would be great to see them named as All Australians on Monday 19 September.

Source Link

Be Sociable, Share!