A collection of Fremantle and West Coast discards have nominated for next week’s national draft.

Delisted Dockers Ryan Murphy and Steven Dodd are among several Freo players looking for a new home while Matt Spangher is one of two ex-Eagles searching for greener pastures.

Key forward Murphy, 25, played in just 48 games since making his debut in 2004. His solitary appearance this year came in the crushing defeat by Hawthorn in Launceston towards the end of the season when coach Mark Harvey rested a dozen key players. 

Murphy booted 50 goals for the club during his tenure.

Dodd, 27, played in 101 games for the Dockers after making his first appearance in 2004 also.

The defender featured in every game for the Dockers in 2006 – when the team made the preliminary final – as well as in 2009.

Other Dockers players hoping for better opportunities elsewhere include Tim Ruffles, Ben Bucovaz and Brock O’Brien.

For the Eagles, 23-year-old Spangher could only muster 26 games since making his debut in 2008. The key defender failed to make a big impression during his eight games in the team’s wooden spoon campaign this year.

Defender Beau Wilkes, 24, is also looking for a fresh start. The Claremont player registered only six appearances this year and just 23 in total since 2008.

Players who have nominated for the national draft: Joe Anderson (Carlton), Jarrod Atkinson (Essendon), Jaxson Barham (Collingwood), Jarrad Blight (Collingwood), Jarrad Boumann (Western Bulldogs), Steven Browne (Carlton), Ben Bucovaz (Fremantle), Ryan Cook (Collingwood), Anthony Corrie (Collingwood), Steven Dodd (Fremantle), Beau Dowler (Hawthorn), Robert Eddy (St Kilda), Brad Fisher (Carlton), Ryan Gamble (Geelong Cats), Chris Hall (Fremantle), Chris Johnson (Carlton), Paul Johnson (Melbourne), Travis Johnstone (Brisbane Lions), Tom McNamara (Melbourne), Luke Miles (St Kilda), Ryan Murphy (Fremantle), Jay Nash (Port Adelaide), Jay Neagle (Essendon), Brock O’Brien (Fremantle), Matthew O’Dwyer (Sydney Swans), Rhys O’Keefe (Carlton), Dean Polo (Richmond), Tim Ruffles (Fremantle), Tyson Slattery (Essendon), Josh Smith (North Melbourne), Matt Spangher (West Coast), Michael Still (Essendon), Kristin Thornton (Sydney Swans), Stephen Tiller (Western Bulldogs), Travis Tuck (Hawthorn), Beau Wilkes (West Coast).

Source Link

Be Sociable, Share!