Fremantle players Paul Duffield and Garrick Ibbotson are on their way to Ireland after being named in the Australian squad for the upcoming two-Test International Rules Series against Ireland.

The Australian team, to be coached by Collingwood’s Michael Malthouse, will gather in Melbourne next Friday, 15 October, before leaving for Ireland on Saturday 16 October.

The first Test will be played at Limerick on Saturday 23 October and the second Test will be played at Croke Park in Dublin on Saturday 30 October.

The squad is: Todd Banfield (Brisbane Lions), Eddie Betts (Carlton), Matthew Boyd (Western Bulldogs), Daniel Cross (Western Bulldogs), Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide Crows), Paul Duffield (Fremantle), Dustin Fletcher (Essendon), James Frawley (Melbourne), Bryce Gibbs (Carlton), Sam Gilbert (St Kilda), Tyson Goldsack (Collingwood), Adam Goodes (Sydney Swans), Brad Green (Melbourne), Garrick Ibbotson (Fremantle), Kieran Jack (Sydney Swans), Jarrad McVeigh (Sydney Swans), Leigh Montagna (St Kilda), Jack Riewoldt (Richmond), Kade Simpson (Carlton), Dane Swan (Collingwood), Travis Varcoe (Geelong Cats), David Wojcinski (Geelong Cats).

Boyd, Fletcher, Goodes, Green, Montagna and Simpson have previously represented Australia at senior level with Fletcher captaining Australia on its victorious 2006 tour to Ireland under Kevin Sheedy and Simpson winning the Jim Stynes Medal as Australia’s best player in the 2008 series on home soil.

Source Link

Be Sociable, Share!