It was a promising sign that Fremantle’s future is looking bright, with four of the top 10 vote-getters from the club’s Doig Medal award being first or second year players.

Excitement machine Stephen Hill lead the charge of the young brigade, finishing fourth with 137 votes, behind winner David Mundy (190), 2009 Medallist Aaron Sandilands (171) and skipper Matthew Pavlich (160).

Greg Broughton (116 votes) and Hayden Ballantyne (103) capped off their excellent second seasons of AFL football, coming in fifth and sixth respectively.

Gun rookie Michael Barlow polled 97 votes to finish seventh despite not playing after round 14.

Fremantle’s top 10 in the Doig Medal voting for 2010 was as follows:

Winner David Mundy 190 votes
2. Aaron Sandilands 171
3. Matthew Pavlich 160
4. Stephen Hill 137
5. Greg Broughton 116
6. Hayden Ballantyne 103
7. Michael Barlow 97
8. Luke McPharlin 80
9. Roger Hayden 78
10. Chris Tarrant 76

Source Link

Be Sociable, Share!