Fremantle midfielder David Mundy has tonight won the Doig Medal as Fremantle’s best and fairest player for 2010.

The 25-year-old polled 190 votes to edge out 2009 Medallist Aaron Sandilands (171) and five-time winner Matthew Pavlich (160). Stephen Hill rounded off the top four with 137 votes.

Mundy, who has recently signed on for a further four years at the Dockers, enjoyed his best season of AFL football in 2010, playing 22 games and averaging 22 disposals per game.

He was a vital cog in Fremantle’s engine room and one of Aaron Sandilands’ favourite targets at the stoppages.

His ball-winning ability and precision skills were highlights in a great year for the club.

Mundy was recruited in 2003 from Victoria’s Murray Bushrangers and has played 130 games for Fremantle.

He was a very humble winner, crediting his teammates for helping him achieve the honour.

“It makes my job a hell of a lot easier roving to a guy like Aaron Sandilands,” Mundy said.

“All I have to do is get it out to a guy like Stephen Hill and he’ll run away from people.

“I feel very privileged to be surrounded by the players that I’m surrounded by.”

At the conclusion of every game this season, including Finals Series matches, Fremantle coaching staff, headed by senior coach Mark Harvey, gave every player votes on a 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis. Top votes are awarded for what is regarded as an elite performance.

Mundy trailed Sandilands by one vote at the conclusion of round 22, but strong performances in both Dockers’ finals, in which he scored a combined 23 votes, helped him finish ahead of the star ruckman.

Sandilands got off to a flyer, polling 95 votes after the first eight rounds to lead clearly from Pavlich (87).

Mundy was fourth, 26 votes in arrears of the lead, but big games in round 9 against Sydney and round 10 against North Melbourne saw him poll 13 and 16 votes respectively to get back on track.

By the end of round 15, Mundy had moved into second place on 130 votes, only 13 behind Sandilands (143), and seven ahead of third-placed Pavlich (123).

Sandilands missed rounds 19-21 through injury, although Mundy, who was rested in round 21, polled only eight votes in that period.

With the regular season done and dusted and the Doig Medal still hanging in the balance, Mundy’s classy Finals’ performances against Hawthorn and Geelong saw him crowned a Doig Medallist for the first time.

In other awards, gun rookie Michael Barlow capped off an outstanding debut season by taking out the Beacon Award as the club’s best first year player.

The 22-year-old Werribee recruit made a brilliant start to his AFL career, gaining 33 disposals and kicking two goals on debut against Adelaide in round 1.

He was Fremantle’s leading possession-getter for the year, averaging almost 28 disposals per game until injury ended his season in round 14.

Barlow’s exceptional ball-winning ability and gut-busting running made him an instant favourite among the Freo faithful in 2010.

Second-year player Matt de Boer won the Best Clubman Award.

De Boer thoroughly deserved the recognition for his wonderful work, not only around the club, but in the community as well.

He was an ambassador for the National Breast Cancer Foundation, and his numerous visits to Princess Margaret Hospital for the Starlight Children’s Foundation helped brighten the lives of less fortunate children.

Fremantle’s night of nights got underway with the Gold Carpet arrivals, as the players and WAGS posed for the ever-present football paparazzi.

Channel 9 Sports Director Michael Thomson hosted the evening’s proceedings, and West Australian rock band Jebediah was the special entertainment after the Doig Medal prize had been awarded.

The club also honoured its retiring players, Paul Hasleby, Des Headland and Scott Thornton with special presentations.

And Aaron Sandilands and Luke McPharlin were awarded Life Membership at the club after reaching 150 games for Fremantle in 2010.

Source Link

Be Sociable, Share!